El Cero

short stories

Repent

God’s a strong force everywhere in Mexico and I found it especially strong amongst the deportees coming over the bridge. Many had re-found God after spending periods in jail, or used it as a point of strength during the difficulty and hardship of life as an ‘illegal alien’. I can see people gain hope, direction and friendship through their religion and it also offers a strong alternative when people’s lives have been following a darker path.

I think people just feel sorry for me when I say I don’t have a God myself. Some pagan Guero who’s lost his way.

Leave a Reply

